AAP Shortlists Four Candidates For Mayor Post

The Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) passed its budget for the financial year 2024-2025 on Thursday, with a total amount of 16,000 crores.

With the MCD budget now finalised, the term of current Mayor Shelly Oberoi nears its end.

The dates for mayoral polls have yet to be announced, but Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has its preparations in full swing and has named four potential contenders for the post.

The Mayor’s seat is reserved this year for individuals from the Scheduled caste (SC) and Scheduled Tribe (ST) category.

AAP has about 32 SC and ST candidates, and according to party insiders, the party has shortlisted the following four candidates for the polls:

Sarika Chaudhary, Daryaganj councillor, president of AAP’s Delhi women’s wing.

Mohini Jeenwal, a councillor from Sunder Nagri and a member of the standing committee.

Prem Chauhan, two-time AAP councillor representing Dakshinpuri and the president of the party’s youth wing.

Vikas Tank, AAP councillor representing Civil Lines.


The shortlisted candidates represent a diverse range of areas and wards within Delhi and bring varied experiences and perspectives to the table.

Until the election date is announced, the discussions will continue within the party. AAP will consider various factors before finalising the candidate for the Mayor’s position at this time.

Aam Aadmi Party intends to include Sikh/Punjabi as well as Baniya candidates after picking a woman face for Mayor and a minority pick for the post of Deputy Mayor the previous year.

As per sources from the opposition BJP, they are yet to finalise their candidates. However, the discussions regarding potential candidates might begin by the end of the month.

If we look at the composition of MCD, the Aam Aadmi Party has a majority with 134 members, BJP is second with 104 members, and INC has 9 seats in the 250-member house.

There is a high chance that AAP will sail through and emerge victorious, claiming the Mayor’s post. It remains to be seen who among the four candidates will take the spot.


Read more: CM Kejriwal Announces Free Bus Tickets for Transgender Community in Delhi


Recent Posts

Katchatheevu to Coco Islands, The Story of India’s Giveaways

The Katchatheevu island issue is back in the limelight after PM Modi mentioned it in…

3 weeks ago

Bengaluru’s Worsening Water Crisis Should be the Wake-Up Call for India and The World

Bengaluru is facing an acute shortage of 500 million litres of water every day, which…

4 weeks ago

The Aam Admi Party Conundrum: Will Kejriwal Run The Delhi Government From Prison?

Delhi's Chief Minister, Arvind Kejriwal, has been arrested by the Enforcement Directorate (ED) and will…

4 weeks ago

Planning to vote for Modi This Year? Wait! Give it a Read to Become an Informed Voter First

The Indian growth story has been famously dubbed the 'Amrit Kaal' by leaders and ministers…

1 month ago

Key Takeaways From Kovind Panel’s Report on One Nation One Election

The report highlights a two-step process in conducting nationwide simultaneous elections that needs many constitutional…

1 month ago

TEPA: How a $100 Billion Free Trade Agreement with EFTA will Benefit India?

India and the four European Free Trade Association (EFTA) countries—Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein, and Switzerland—have finally…

1 month ago